MOT changes from 20 May 2018: overview for MOT testers

So from the 20th of May this year, the MOT
test is changing in several ways. So there'll be some changes to the content
of the MOT, although the basic essence the MOT is staying the same, there will be some
changes to content. There'll also be changes to the defect categories,
that vehicles pass and fail for, and the documentation that we issue at the end of an MOT will be
changing to reflect that. So there's now going to be three defect categories;
dangerous, major and minor. So for dangerous and major defects the vehicle
will fail, for minor defects the vehicle won't fail and of course you'll still be able to
issue advisories for those components that aren't yet defective but are wearing or on
their way out. So all of the new defects are described there
in the MOT inspection manual and also in the MOT testing service. So as a tester you need to pick the defect
that matches the defect on the vehicle and that will be set out as to whether it is either
dangerous, major or minor. The MOT documentation will be changing to
reflect the new defect categories and also to try and explain things much more clearly
to motorists about what they need to do in their vehicle.

So if a vehicle fails the defects will be
categorised on the failure documentation as dangerous, major or minor. If a vehicle passes any minor defects will
also be shown on the pass certificate, together with any advisories. You'll be able to find out more detail about
the changes to the MOT on GOV.UK.